Welcome Home

Hi,

I’m DJMMT also known as The DOC. Welcome to my gaming blog. For those of you tuning in for the first time, this is not a new blog. In fact it’s been going strong since the very first post on November 8th, 2013. Since that original introductory post, I have been going strong and have never missed a single week of posting. That’s the first promise I’ll make you as a new reader. This blog is consistent. Every week there will be a new post. As the name suggests, this is a gaming blog. Occasionally I dabble in film, television, and comics but I always try to relate it back to gaming in some way or I post two articles in the same week with one being about gaming. That’s the second promise I’ll make to you as a new reader. This is a gaming blog and as such you will get gaming related content on a weekly basis, usually on Wednesday mornings, Pacific Standard Time.

I first started this blog with the goal of talking about serious topics in the gaming community and industry with the hope that somehow I would lead to changing the way people think and ultimately purchase video games. In my own way I wanted to change the ways video games are made and sold from the ground up by focusing on the consumers rather than complaining to developers directly. I truly believe in the power of the dollar and that the gamers, when we rally together, have more power than the industry wants us to realize. Since I started this blog I have seen amazing things happen. Not all of them good things, but many examples of what gamers can do when they organize and speak with one voice. That’s why I continue to write this blog. That’s also why originally this blog was called “Change the Game Blog”. Because like the name suggests, I want to change game development practices. That’s also why my motto is “Don’t change the players, change the games.”

Since the humble beginnings of this blog, a lot has changed. In no small part because of this blog, I am now regularly writing sponsored (games provided, not money) game reviews for one site and gaming related opinion articles for another. This blog also helped me get my current job as a copywriter at a PC components manufacturer called Cooler Master. Because of all the writing I’m now doing, this blog has slowly evolved into a HUB site for my gaming related writing in other places. Many, but not all, of my posts end up being previews of things I’ve published somewhere else. I believe this is important because it makes this page an easy way for my readers to be aware of everything I’m doing in relation to gaming. I understand that it can be seen as an inconvenience for some to have to come to my blog page only to then have to go somewhere else, but currently I don’t get the readership my posts deserve when publishing directly on my own page. Once the situation changes and I’m getting views and comments at a frequency that makes this page more valuable than writing for someone else’s page, I will most certainly publish directly here for the convenience of my readers. Usually this page is used just to display my writing, but I’d like to push it farther than that. I plan on also providing embedded videos of my weekly posts on YouTube as well as information about my streams and other gaming related work. Essentially I’d like this to be a one stop shop for all your gaming needs.

I’d also like this to be an interactive space so anything I post will have an open comments section and I will respond to all comments right here. Even if the article is posted somewhere else, feel free to comment here and I will answer it directly as soon as I can. I’d also like your feedback and suggestions. If there’s something you’d like to see written, discussed, or recorded please feel free to leave me a comment or use the contact page to message me directly. I’m always happy to discuss the things my readers want to discuss because that’s the ultimate purpose of this blog. This is a place for gamers to discuss serious gaming related topics.

For my long time followers, or just anyone whose seen my original blog on IGN, you’re probably wondering why after all this time would I change blog spaces. The answer is simple. IGN is a broken mess and has been for a long time. When I first started blogging, I thought it would be a great place to write about games. Gamers were coming there anyway so why not? First of all, it’s terrible for non-IGN sponsored writers because getting to the blog section is not super convenient or apparent on the site. Second, IGN does little to nothing to promote dedicated bloggers. But technically that’s not their job so whatever.

The main reason I left is that the back end of the site is totally screwed up and has been for quite some time. This wasn’t always true, but for the past several months the problems have only gotten worse. Often my blog link doesn’t work. When you try to click it from my Twitter bio and other places I have it posted, you will often get a 404 page. I can’t explain why this is because the blog is live and I publish(ed) new content every week, but often the link just refuses to work. This is true for many blogs on the site by the way. I’ve taken the time to check around. The account status updates no longer work. If you go to my page and look at the status, it will say “This week I published an article about how devs need to take responsibility for faulty coding & not punish players for using non-hacking exploits.” The date will say # of months since posted. Last time I checked it was four. The reason for this lack of updating is not because I haven’t tried to update it. It’s because it no longer allows me to update it. It’s stuck on that status and though I have contacted IGN support numerous times about the issue it was never fixed. Another big problem is that the follower counter is broken. It always reads zero even though I had more than 50 followers when it finally stopped working. The followers are still there. I can still go check them in the followers page. But the front page counter is broken and always reads zero. Because of issues like these, I finally decided that it was time to branch out and start my own WordPress.

Expect the same great quality and consistency with none of the technical issues. And now we’ve got some new bells and whistles like my Instagram feed, dedicated side links, and way nicer banners. But this day does not just commemorate a better, cleaner looking blog. All my channels are being revamped as part of the process. You may have noticed my logo has been updated and new banners have been created that weren’t present on my original blog. This is also true on my Twitter profile, YouTube channel, and my Twitch channel. This isn’t just a new coat of paint though. There will be some noticeable changes/improvements.

On YT you will start seeing better quality videos. The two biggest problems with my channel were sound, and graphics in a far off but definitely noticeable second. The sound issues have been improved vastly. You can now actually hear the commentary and the gameplay. If you’re using speakers or a headset you should have no audio problems and if you’re using laptop speakers it should be at least doable. Hopefully I’ll be able to improve the sound quality even more in the near future once I purchase a better mic. My Twitch channel will finally become active. I’ve finally gotten a PS4 camera and the other tools I need to stream at least some content at an acceptable level. The stream schedule is not set in stone yet, but streaming will start this week and may already have by the time you read this post. And in the near future this will be expanding to PC gaming. I’ve been saving for a long time to build a new PC and I’m finally getting the project going. I already have the case, power supply, and SSD thanks in no small part to a sponsorship from Cooler Master. I’m waiting to hear about some other possible sponsorships and then I will purchase the rest of the necessary parts out of pocket. This will be a build that allows for Full HD streaming and recording with a high quality microphone so that you can enjoy my content the way it was meant to be experienced. I’ve also started an Instagram that can be viewed on the right side of this blog. Feel free to follow me for all gaming related pictures.

I’d like to take this time to thank all my loyal readers who have stuck with me through the good times and the bad. I know your time is valuable and that taking the time to read someone’s content is no small commitment. Especially when it’s as long as some of my stuff is. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to read my stuff and it’s because of you that companies and websites alike have given me the opportunity to write for them. You are greatly valued as a part of this process and if possible I would like to start doing some sort of giveaways to loyal and active readers as a small token of my thanks.

For new readers, thank you for taking the time to check out this space and I hope you decide to come back and experience what I have to offer. The first real post will of course be published next week. Thanks for reading.

Sincerely,

DJMMT aka The DOC

Blog Logo

Leave a Reply

