Garou: Mark of the Wolves Review – 5/10

This week I reviewed a retro fighter from the Fatal Fury series called Garou: Mark of the Wolves. This was the port of PS4. It wasn’t the best fighter from that era. I published this review on Brash Games, but here is the introduction:

garou-1

The thing about fighting games is that they are all kind of similar, yet each franchise is also kind of different. But at the same time, each game in a particular franchise is kind of the same other than when it’s the latest game in the series. So when I end up playing older fighting games they often end up seeming much the same as any other older fighting game I’ve played recently. It’s because of this that I just couldn’t get that into Garou: Mark of the Wolves. When I played the recently released (12/3/2016) PS4 port of the SNK classic, originally released in 1999, I quickly recognized that it clearly had an effect on fighters that have been released since then. In fact, this 11th and final installment and its 10 predecessors in the Fatal Fury series had a direct effect on the development of the King of Fighters series, also released by SNK. The first game is literally titled Fatal Fury: King of Fighters and is the basis for the KoF tournament that the sister series takes its name from. This is why playing Garou: Mark of the Wolves reminded me so much of when I reviewed The King of Fighters 2000 back in September which was originally released just one year after this final installment of the Fatal Fury series.

You can read the rest of the review here. For this and other reviews by me on Brash Games you can also check out my Author’s Archive page.

cropped-blog-logo.png
As always, thanks for reading. Please take the time to follow my blog, leave a comment, and check out some of my other channels if you enjoyed what you read.
Leave a Reply

