Change Up the Anime Games on Gaming Rebellion

One of the biggest announcements at E3 this year has to be Dragon Ball FighterZ. It looks awesome but at the same time I’m underwhelmed by the prospect of yet another anime fighting game. I wrote about my thoughts on this problem with anime game development on Gaming Rebellion this week. Here’s the introduction:

final bout

I really like anime. At one point in my life I would have said I loved it. I grew up during the first generation Toonami era. This was a time when anime had just started to become normalized in the United States. Up until then we had it but it was considered niche. Most people who called themselves anime fans only watched a handful of shows such as Dragon Ball Z. Toonami was one of the first places, maybe even the first place, where American kids could watch anime on cable easily. They started showing flagship anime like Dragon Ball Z, Ronin Warriors, and Sailor Moon. As it got bigger, they created a nighttime program where they could show more mature anime such as Cowboy Bebop and Ghost in the Shell. This was the origin of Adult Swim. Now Adult Swim is mostly American cartoons but in the heyday it was basically all now classic anime.

The beginning isn’t really games focused, but the rest of the post is all about the anime games. You can read the rest right here on Gaming Rebellion.

Blog Logo
As always, thanks for reading. Please take the time to follow my blog, leave a comment, and check out some of my other channels and Patreon if you enjoyed what you read.
Leave a Reply

