Gaming Photography – Tomb Raider

Now that I’ve finally built my gaming PC, I have gotten serious about gaming photography. It’s a hobby that I’ve always been interested in but could never do properly before due to technological limitations. The PS3 has no native photo capabilities, the Wii U might as well not have any photo capabilities because they’re super limited, inconvenient, and impossible to share outside of Miiverse, and the PS4 screenshot function is average at best. It lets you take photos and the quality is actually pretty good, but there’s so much delay when you try to take them and checking your photos requires you to exit the game you’re playing and go to the capture app. It’s super inconvenient and slow. It’s impossible to know if you got the photo you wanted in time to preserve the scene in a cinematic scenario. But with my PC and Elgato HD 60 Pro I can instantly take beautiful in game photos with the touch of a button and quickly check them in real time. Obviously I can also take beautiful PC game screenshots as well.

I make it a point of only taking natural in game shots. I don’t use photo modes or alter the brightness/color settings except in special situations. I’ve already become a gaming photography snob, lol. I don’t consider myself a pro at this point because I’m only just starting out but I plan to make photo posts a regular part of my blog. I also post them on my Twitter and Instagram often.

 

Recently I finished Rise of The Tomb Raider on PS4. You can actually watch my playthrough series on my YouTube channel. Here is a collection of some of the best photos I took from the game. I saved 209 photos but I’ve only included the top 10 here for purposes of time and storage space on my WordPress.

Let's Play Rise of the Tomb Raider Screenshot 2017-07-04 23-29-06Let's Play Rise of the Tomb Raider Screenshot 2017-07-09 23-11-51Let's Play Rise of the Tomb Raider Screenshot 2017-07-18 05-02-00Let's Play Rise of the Tomb Raider Screenshot 2017-07-22 13-34-38Let's Play Rise of the Tomb Raider Screenshot 2017-07-25 15-38-19Let's Play Rise of the Tomb Raider Screenshot 2017-07-25 16-07-53Let's Play Rise of the Tomb Raider Screenshot 2017-07-28 15-04-37Let's Play Rise of the Tomb Raider Screenshot 2017-07-29 14-51-24Let's Play Rise of the Tomb Raider Screenshot 2017-08-02 20-23-46Let's Play Rise of the Tomb Raider Screenshot 2017-07-28 14-57-28

Please let me know what you think of my shots. Any feedback is appreciated because I would like to improve my gaming photography skills.

2 thoughts on “Gaming Photography – Tomb Raider

Leave a Reply

